Cast Your Vote

So I’ve started my next big writing project: a modern retelling of Swan Lake. And when I say started, I mean I’ve started daydreaming about whether my main character is fast or graceful. I’m leaning toward speed skater because then I can finally go take a lesson and live vicariously through my characters. And you will NOT catch me taking a figure skating lesson.

But then I remember Oksana Baiul in all her feathery glory and think, Swan Lake! (If you don’t know who I’m talking about, you haven’t been an Olympics junkie since 1994.)

So what do you think?

In other news, I’m listening to the ALA Awards broadcast as I compose this post. How ’bout that Kadir Nelson, huh?

4 Comments

Filed under Novel, Speedskating, Video

4 responses to “Cast Your Vote

  1. Oh, I would go with figure skating… it’s so elegant. But speed skating does seem more unexpected, and that’s always good. 🙂

    So how did your last project go? Did you get your novel submitted?

  2. I can’t decide either. I’m leaning toward figure skater because it is elegant and beautiful like what you’d expect from a fairytale about swans. But then again, speed skating is different and unexpected. Urg! I’m no help, am I?

  3. Sara

    I say speed skater. It seems … meatier.

    Not to say ice skaters are shallow or anything, but I think the unexpected always makes for more in-depth characters. But that’s me.

    Plus … I want pictures of you speed skating. 😉

  4. Rick

    Speedskating, definitely. And if you need research materials, I have the entire 2002 Winter Olympics recorded.

    Plus I have a friend who was an Olympic speed skater. She’s here at BYU.

    (Somewhere I also have Oksana Baiul’s performance recorded.)