Back in Them Days . . .

I think that’s how my grandpa would’ve started a list of memories since he went to Wasatch High School Part I. I attended WHS-II, so I too can say “them days” with reckless abandon. To the students of WHS-III: I’m expecting more from you.

Congrats to my alma mater on progressing from this:

Copy of Wasatch High School

to this:

NWHS

Fall always makes me feel like I’m starting school again, but maybe that’s because I work on the same college campus I used to attend. I participate in all the back-to-school sales. I fight the crazy parking situation with the best of them.

But deep down I know I’m too old to be a student anymore, even if SBOs try to get me to vote, because I think at least five times a day, “Look at what the kids are wearing these days!”

When I realized today that half my own college memories are totally foreign to me now, I felt even older. Here are a few:

1.) Spending much time in the library looking at actual books because Google had not scanned them yet, and teachers would not allow more than one online resource to be cited in a paper. That capricious Internet could not be trusted.

2.) Standing in line at kiosks to send quick e-mails. I was still enamored with the fact that sending e-mail was FREE now. Back home, the closest dial-up number was long-distance.

3.) Walking around campus silently, not looking anyone in the eye or smiling or talking, because BYU was like mini New York City, only clean. Now everyone smiles and talks and laughs nonstop—to their cell phones.

4.) Staring at my roommate’s iMac (year 2000 variety) and having a complete breakdown because I could not write the last paper of my college career because I could not access the two books I needed because BYU didn’t have them and Orem Library wouldn’t let me use them since I was a student and not an Orem resident and I was so screwed and it was too late to sign up for a new topic and if I flunked the final paper I would not graduate.

Does anyone remember a time when you literally could NOT get the book you needed? There was no such thing as Amazon or eBay back in them days.

(And do not tell me Amazon has been around since 1995. The Internet wasn’t even invented until, like, 2004.)

Now that we’ve come so far, what I want to know is when are they going to invent something where I can load all my music onto a miniature device and listen to 24-hour playlists through teeny tiny headphones?

5 Comments

Filed under technology

5 responses to “Back in Them Days . . .

  1. Mak

    Yeah. When can I have a phone that i can carry in my pocket that will take pictures and video, let me check email & surf the ‘net? Oh, and I wan to watch TV, Play games, and read books on it. Oh, and use it as a GPS so I don’t get lost, look up bird species, exchange information with others with a “bump” and make really cool gun cocking and firing noises- just for meetings, you know?

    When will they come up with that? Probably when dippin’ dots are no longer the “ice cream of the future” because, man, the future will have ARRIVED!

  2. Anne

    I have quite the experience of not being able to get the book that I needed. It was while I was on study-abroad in Ireland. I had a report due on some aspect of the preservation-features of peat bogs. However, the town I was in was a little over 100 people and so their library was a bit lacking. There was a nicer library in Westport which was about 30 kilometers away. There weren’t any buses until the next day and so my friend and I started to walk with our thumbs out in the air, hoping for a ride. After about 7 kilometers a semi truck that had passed us going the opposite way about an hour earlier pulled over behind us and offered us a ride. (Note: Hitchhiking is not nearly as dangerous in Ireland.) Not only was the guy a semi truck driver but he was also shirtless and had some interesting tatoos up his arms. His phone kept going off (over 60 rings) and eventually he pulled over again to tighten a strap on the load in back. My friend was certain he was going to kill us and didn’t want to answer the phone. It turned out that he was a really nice guy. End of story.

  3. gaylene

    The semester I graduated I had to take a class on how to USE the internet because nobody had ever used it before 🙂 and I was too scared to use the card catalog in the library, so I never went in there–I just did without any book I couldn’t automatically find on the shelf…

    • Kim Reid

      Mak – the gun noises. What a grand idea. 😉

      Anne – I’d like to read that paper on peat bogs. Yeah… what was your major again?!

      Gaylene – I’m glad I’m not the only writerly type who was afraid of the card catalog. I think I was somewhat afraid of the library, period. I only went into one once my whole freshman year.

  4. nikkimantyla

    Yeah, the card catalog. My college career was 2000-2006, so right on the cusp of everything changing (went to college without cell phone or computer and graduated not knowing how I ever lived without those). One time I went to where the card catalog had previously been, and the drawers were empty! A librarian nearby (college guy) looked at me like I was nuts and said, “It’s all on the computer, you know.” Now I teach college writing and I don’t even bother sending my students to the library anymore. It’s faster to find legitimate journal articles online.