Top Stories

1. Kim walks on rope scary high in the air.

Kim at Heber Valley Camp 2009 013

(Crazy girls-camp off-season family reunion.)

2. Kim queries Mary Kole, Andrea Brown literary agent and Ben Folds afficionado. (Or is it afficionada?)

Mary

3. Mary loves Kim’s manuscript!

4. Kim loves doughnuts.

5. Kim eats poisoned doughnut and is out of commission for the next 24 hours, thus delaying working on those awesome revisions Mary requested. (Seriously—they are awesome. Working with Mary will be my free MFA. Before my next post, she might even teach me to not write about myself in the third person)

6. Kim manages to affix a stamp to the envelope and drop a SIGNED contract in the mail.

7. KIM HAS AN AGENT!!

29 Comments

Filed under Agent

29 responses to “Top Stories

  1. Anne

    Congratulations!

  2. sara

    Wahoo!!!!!! So excited for you. And Mary. 🙂

  3. Kim, I am so so so thrilled for you, as you could probably tell with my prolonged screaming fit over the phone.

    You so deserve this. I anticipate a grand adventure.

  4. Why isn’t there more screaming and jumping up and down in this post? I mean, whenever I picture myself in this scenario, it’s just one long happy scream. So congrats on sounding so intelligent at this juncture! Oh, and HOLY COW CONGRATULATIONS ON AN AGENT THAT IS SO AMAZING AREN’T YOU FLOATING AWAY ON THE INSTANT EUPHORIA?! (Yeah, that’s what I’d sound like: a moron who screams in run-on sentences.)

    • Kim Reid

      Thanks, everyone!

      Brodi and Nikki, thank you for the screaming on my behalf. Now I can just lie on the couch and smile between stomach episodes. Seriously, I’ll scream more when I get over stomach flu/food poisoning…maybe…

  5. gaylene wilson

    congratulations!! and that agency is one of the best 🙂 good for you. Let us know when she sells your story.

  6. Mak

    Super-Confreakin’gratulations. I KNEW it was a big deal when you just casually threw it out there the other day. (I can tell ’cause your writer friends are all freakin’ happy)

    Evil doughnut! I’d hate for something like that to happen to me and ruin doughnuts for me…

    • Kim Reid

      Oh, no worries. I’ll eat more doughnuts as soon as I feel better. I really don’t think it was the doughnut. It’s just the last thing I remember eating.

  7. I am so unbelievably proud of you! I can’t wait to see the changes to the already wonderful story. This is so exciting!

  8. Jenny

    SOOOO fantastic! Congratulations!!

  9. Kim, congratulations on getting a publisher! That is so exciting! I wish you the best in getting your book published. Good luck! 🙂

  10. Hannah

    Congratulations!!! That’s so amazing!! 😀

  11. Cam Ballou

    Congrats! We will expect big things from you 🙂

  12. Kim

    Congrats! That’s so great. Good luck with your revisions.

  13. Congratulations on getting an agent!!!

    • Kim Reid

      Thanks to all Brodi’s friends for stopping by! (She is such a nice writer peep.) I haven’t let myself celebrate too much because I’m so freaked out about revisions, so all the good vibes being posted here are much appreciated.

  14. Seems like everybody’s getting agents lately! Congrats! Hope I can join the bandwagon, soon, but I’m not sure I’m ready. Kind of like walking that rope up there. We should get together for lunch and celebrate!

    • Kim Reid

      I wasn’t positive my manuscript was ready for an agent, but I also knew I couldn’t improve it any more on my own, so I’m so grateful Mary says it’s “ready” enough for her to start working her magic. I’ll get in touch with you about lunch when I’m feeling better!

  15. Monica Weeks

    Congratulations on getting an agent! (Not that I am surprised, as I was already aware of your immense talent. 🙂 Hope you’ve recovered from that food poisoning!

  16. Awesome! That’s great news!

  17. Jenilyn

    Congratulations! That’s wonderful news! I hope there’s more to come soon.

    And I’m impressed with the high rope. I was at girl’s camp this summer and that was one bit of excitement that I didn’t experience.

  18. Kathryn

    YAY! It’s so fun being friends with a famous person. 🙂
    That rope is scary high. Where is the circus net to catch you if you fall!?

  19. Kathryn

    P.S. Don’t eat poison doughnuts anymore.

    And, CONGRATULATIONS!

  20. Monica Weeks

    Gah, lost my ) in that last comment! To answer your question: when I no longer have a toddler. 🙂

  21. Gah! I didn’t see this post earlier . . . but, anyway, CONGRATULATIONS again. You deserve it. I love/hate how nonchalant you are about it. It’s okay to start screaming now 🙂

    xoxo

  22. Britney Rule

    Yay! Congratulations, Kim! I hope that someday I can be as cool as you! 🙂